HomeMoodle & Online LearningMoodle FAQ - FacultyHow do I restore a course using a previous backup?

4.9. How do I restore a course using a previous backup?

Restore a course backup using previous downloaded backup file.

  1. Enter the course.
  2. Click the "restore" link in the administration block.
  3. Select "Choose a file" and navigate to the location of your backup.
  4. You may also drag and drop the backup file into the drag and drop area.
  5. The backup file may take a few minutes to upload to the server.
  6. The upload indicator will disappear when finished.
  7. Click the "Restore button" to begin the process.
  8. Look over the summary of content from the backup file.
  9. Click "continue" to proceed.
  10. Scroll to the section "Restore into this course" and select the option to delete or merge.
  11. Selecting "Delete the content" will clean your current course and restore from backup.
  12. Selecting "merge the backup" will combine the content from the current course and the backup (This option could create duplicate content).
  13. Select the settings you want to restore and click "Next" to continue.
  14. Place a check in the box for the activities/section you want to restore and click next at the bottom of the page to continue.
  15. Look over the restore summary and click "Perform restore" at the bottom of the page to complete the process.
  16. The process will take a few minutes to complete. The percentage indicator will reach 100%.
  17. Select "Continue" when the process is complete to return to the course main page.


To restore a course backup when the backup is already on the system.

  1. Enter the course.
  2. Click the "restore" link in the administration block.
  3. The backup file will be located in the "course backup area" or "Private backup area"
  4. Click the "Restore" link to the right of the backup file.
  5. The process will continue from step 8 above.




Related Pages
This page was: Helpful | Not Helpful